Home PodcastBlog How to Change Your Facebook Email Settings
How to Change Your Facebook Email Settings

How to Change Your Facebook Email Settings

June 26, 2012

Facebook recently added a new email into your settings. That is, your new email. The one you never knew you had.

According to Facebook: “Your Facebook email is based on your public username. Email sent to this address goes to Facebook Messages.”

It’s no secret that Facebook wants users to spend more time on their site. More time on Facebook means more information they can collect. Emailing through the Facebook platform is one way to do so. Facebook assumes that since we’re on the platform, we might as well email there as well. Ahhh, not so much. Sneaking this new email into our settings without prior consent isn’t the best way to win users over.

We do have the choice about whether or not to use Facebook. But leaving Facebook is the modern equivalent of running away from home. We all know you’ll come back. Mwahahaha.

If you don’t want to run away but don’t wish to use Facebook email, how do you remove it?

As far as I know, you cannot completely remove the Facebook email. Facebook makes us think that we can. But when we actually go into the settings, it’s not possible.

 

You can either:

     1). Hide the Facebook email from your timeline

     2). Make the Facebook email available to be viewed only by you

Note: You can Remove any other of your emails listed, but you cannot remove your Facebook email. Pretty convenient for Facebook, eh?

In any of the above two cases, you’ll need to get to the Settings first.

  • Click Update Info from your Profile.
  • Scroll Down to Contact Info (under Basic Info) then hit Edit.

1. To Hide the Facebook email from your Timeline:

On the far right, you’ll see a circle with an arrow pointing down.

Click the down arrow and choose “Hidden from Timeline.”

Scroll down to the bottom and hit “Save.”

2. To make the Facebook email only viewable by you:

The default is set to be viewed by Friends. To change this setting:

Select the people icon on the left.

Scroll down to the Lock that says “Only Me.” Select.

Scroll down to the bottom and hit “Save.”

And there you have it.

Now would be a good time to review and update any of your other privacy settings.

Did I miss anything? Please leave your thoughts in the comments.